Tags

,

Hebrew 13:5

“…for he hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee.”

To be forsaken means to be left in a lurch.  It means to put your trust in someone and have that someone leave you holding the bag so to speak.  This is something that God has promised us he will never do.  He will never leave us holding the bag.

When Jesus hung on the cross in his darkest hour he cried out “My God, my God why hast thou forsaken me?” (Matt.27:46).  For a split second Jesus was left holding the bag as the Father  looked away at His only begotten Son because of the sins of the world.  Jesus bore being  forsaken by the Father so that you and I would never have to endure being forsaken by the Father.  Because of Jesus we will never be left in a lurch or never be left holding the bag.  We will never be forsaken because he is our helper and he does what a helper does, he helps.

